Posted by: Matt Y | 02/13/2014

Projects

Haven’t updated this in a while.

I’ve been playing with a few ideas.  Right now I’m at 30k words in Ranger (title up in the air still) a sci-fi/western story I’ve been working on since last summer.  I should be further into it, I pretty much think about it constantly lately but I’m having mental hurdles to leap.  I keep worrying too much about whether I’m having characters explain too much background with dialogue to the point that it distracts from the forward momentum of the story.  Usually books get around this by having a character who is either young or not familiar with a situation so as to explain it to the reader and the character in a natural way as it moves along.  I’m no doing that, though I’ve been questioning maybe switching a few things around to do so.  But I don’t want to do that at the moment because when I get to the end and read the whole thing through I might not even feel the need to make those changes.

So basically, like with any project, I just need to get over myself and finish the fucker.

Of course it doesn’t help that other ideas pop in my head and I want to work on those as well.  For example, there was some zombie related kickstarter project and I was going to make a joke about how kickstarter brings dead projects back to like digital voodoo.  Then those things crossed some wires in my brain and I thought, man if Necromancers existed but it was like really expensive to use their services then I could imagine someone setting up a website to gather donations like Kickstarter, but with pitches to bring dead people back to life for a short amount of time to ask questions or resolve issues.

Yes my head is stuck so far into the clouds that I think of things like ‘What if Necromancers were real’ as just a random bullshit thought.  I laughed at myself for thinking it and moved on.

Or so I thought.

That thought’s been churning back in my subconscious or something because this morning it popped into my head like a fully formed thing while walking to the bus today.  Instead of Kickstarter, what if there was a site called HeartStarter for this, and what if this and what if that.  Like could I tell the story in a different way, like the very first line I thought of was going to be someone receiving an email FWD about a new HeartStarter thing that a friend thought they should check out, but what if I made a mock website/HearStarter page and instead started the story by actually sending that email with link as the start to the story to people interested.  Could I actually pull that off?  That’d be kind of fun to try and do I’d think and I haven’t tried telling a story using multiple forms of media.  It could be episodic that way as well.  Maybe I could get other creative people I know to contribute.

I really like this idea.

I really should stop thinking of other things to do and finish one project at a time.

Oh man, did I mention this kung-fu fantasy story I’ve had rattling around in my brain for about 2 years, because…

Leave a Reply

Categories

