Posted by: Matt Y | 06/07/2013

Gut check

Dollar taco night followed by sausage stir fry night is a combo that I should’ve realized would lead to my insides attempting to revolt against the terrible conditions I impose upon them.

Conni, one of the people I dedicated my book to and an all around awesome lady, sent me some edits for my book recently.  After editing, re-editing, printing and editing, having my wife edit and re-edit it and then to still see things slipped through the both of us is a gut punch to my pride (or that might just be the dollar tacos).  I’m very happy she sent those to me, but I was trying not to be one of those self published authors with terrible quality control.  So if you read something in Bedtime Stories for the Insomniac that’s off, feel free to let me know if there’s any way I can at least update the eBook version.  I apologize for it, a writer without an editor is like a surgeon without and anesthesiologist.  Sure, the surgery might have been done perfectly, but it’s going to be a difficult experience to get through.

Read The Human Division by Scalzi and I envy his ability to write so casually in a humorous way that doesn’t detract from the seriousness of the story he is telling.  He writes Sci-Fi, but keeps it tight to the story and doesn’t fill the plot with unneeded details that might detract from what he’s telling.  If his books were ground beef they’d be 93% lean.  I do think his dialog is a little too sarcasm dependent however.

I had an idea for another horror short story series, but one with a plot device that would tie the stories together.  But I’m not in the mood for horror at the moment so I’m tabling that idea for later.  Book tour starts today so I’m anxious to see how that turns out.  Book reviews are part of it, and any edits I make are not going to be a part of the version they reviewed so I might get beat up a little, deservedly so.  Aside from technical issues though I’m interested in what other people thought of the stories, so I’m still excited to see their thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

