Posted by: Matt Y | 08/20/2012

Current Project

About 13 years ago I started a high school project for writing class called ‘Bedtime Stories for the Insomniac’.  I liked to write short stories, and I was going to slap a couple of them together under that title and bam, senior project.  Then teachers switched and we had someone who wanted us to explore performing our writing.  Needless to say I wasn’t thrilled.  Later, due to finances and my personal situation, along with having a sketchy status when it came to who my legal gaurdian was compared to where I was living, it made it difficult to be able to fit into the criteria for FAFSA.  No money for school, and unwilling to saddle myself with debt I decided to work and write.

Then it mostly became work, and work.

Then I started writing for a video game website and it became work, and writing about video games.

I still would write my own stuff, sparingly.  I went through a phase where I wondered if I only wrote because it provided mental escape from a situation I was in.  Now that I was happy and busy it became harder to find time to write, and I wondered if that was even what I wanted.  It was actually during NaNoWriMo that I found my voice again.  It was there but all this mental bullshit got in the way.  I have particular issues with the concept of National Novel Writing Month that I will probably bitch about some other time, still in the middle of all the junk I wrote that month, I wrote something I liked.  Then I kept doing that.  Now I have six stories that I plan on putting together under the title of my long overdue senior project, with a seventh I’m about to write.

It feels really good.  I’m excited.  I’m going to get this done.

Leave a Reply

Categories

